Watching Father of the Bride is a nice way of spending this day when your dad is not around. And even if he doesn't know of this holiday, you ought to call him and say "I love you, Dad!"

I thought it was weird that Bulgaria doesn’t celebrate Mother’s Day (celebrated on the second Sunday in May).

Still, we honor our mothers, sisters, grandmothers, aunts, girlfriends, and female colleagues on the International Women’s Day (March 8th).

Now, I realize that we don’t have Father’s Day (third Sunday of June) either.

This is reprehensible!

It’s not the case that we don’t respect our parents. On the contrary, family is one of the most important values in our culture. I guess it’s just a curious omission that we’ve made in our calendar.

Dad, Mom, I don’t need a special holiday to thank you for everything you do for me and to say how much I love you!