It’s not only here, but it’s spreading fast like a parasite!

We got the first one in November 2008, and in February 2009, we already had the second one on that very same boulevard. Then, one opened by the seaside in Burgas, and today I noticed two at the same mall, The CarreFour Mall! That’s scary!

Will the diluted, tasteless coffee and the sugar-filled frappes replace the old-fashioned coffee places in Sofia??

Sometimes I don’t like globalization. I hope it never gets as bad as in the States. I don’t want to see one Starbuck on every corner in Sofia.

The expensive and pretentious coffee shops are the complete opposite of what Bulgarians understand by “having coffee”.

Is the time of the quaint little neighborhood cafe over? I miss its smell of coffee and cigarettes.

Will I ever see my mother drink home-brewed black coffee while chit-chatting with a girlfriend on the balcony?

Have the days when my grandmother’s friend would tell fortune by the Turkish coffee-grounds ended?

Will I ever be tempted by somebody’s innocent invitation “Let’s drink a cup of coffee…” again? Or will it have to be “Let me buy you a grande skinny soy dolce vanilla late with cream from the mall, mind you the $3.”