Poli Genova, Bulgarian contestant for Eurovision 2011

It’s that time of the year again: time for Eurovision 2011 – Düsseldorf. (read my post about Bulgaria in Eurovision 2010)

This year, the Bulgarian contestant is the lovely Poli Genova!

I still remember Poli as the face of the children’s music TV show Bonn-Bon. Born in 1987, she now hosts and stars in many shows while also pursuing a degree as a Director.  Poli took part in the national level of Eurovision 2009, but her song One Lifetime is Not Enough became second in the finals.

This year, she became the national champion with a new song, Na Inat (In Defiance)!  The lyrics go: “I will find the strength inside me, I know there is so much that I can achieve. There is so much love in me, there is a reason for me to stay. We will stay and we will find a reason to stay in spite of everything. There is so much we can achieve here.” Thus, the song urges young Bulgarian people to stay in our country and to try to achieve their dreams here, “in defiance”! Poli is the perfect person to sing such a song because she is the epitome of successful Bulgarian youth!

Listen to the Bulgarian Eurovision 2011 song below and comment if you absolutely love it!!! Do you think that Poli should translate the lyrics?

Watch Bulgaria’s performance on the Eurovision semi-final on May 12th and vote for Bulgaria!